The Release of the Spirit


Here’s a link to a little book that had quite an influence on me as I was beginning my spiritual journey as a Christian, some three and a half decades ago. Watchman Nee uses the language he learned from extremely conservative fundamentalist Christians to describe spiritual phenomena which, I am more and more convinced, are not limited to adherents of any single belief system. Now my particular understanding of Christianity is that it also is not so limited, so I remain quite comfortable with Nee’s vocabulary, inasmuch as I continue to call myself a Christian. I don’t think Nee thought of himself as a mystic by any means, and certainly not as an occultist. But the principles he expresses in this little book reflect observations of human life and interaction that I think people of many persuasions, or mayhap of no persuasion, might find helpful.

3 thoughts on “The Release of the Spirit

  1. The Release of the Spirit is the first book I read by Nee. And it is amazing. Sadly, the second book I read is called Spiritual Authority and it is dribble. Currently, I happen to be reading The Glory of His Life by Nee. It’s better than Spiritual Authority but not nearly as good as Release. The next book I’m reading by him is called Wisdom and Spirit of Revelation. I happened to come across a stack of his books that were selling very cheap, so I grabbed them all. Glad to see that others are reading Release, which had a great impact on my life as well. God bless. And more fire!

  2. Most of the writings attributed to Nee were actually written as transcriptions of his sermons by listeners at various times. There is sometimes a perceptible slant or color to the way some of these works come across, for reasons that I think might illustrate some of the points, interestingly, in this particular little volume. As a result of that, the impact these published works have is somewhat uneven, at least in my reading of them. So far as I know (and I may need to be corrected), the only work written directly by Nee was The Spiritual Man, which he also later expressed a measure of regret for, because he felt that there was a danger that someone could read it, attain only a mental grasp and understanding, and deceive themselves into thinking that they had learned something useful, when really the only useful thing is to connect with God directly, something that is not at all the same as having an intellectually coherent view of things. Anyway, thanks for your commment!

Leave a Reply

