Is the Golden Rule practical when fighting terrorism?


The Golden Rule, taken from the words of Jesus according to Matthew, says:

Do unto others as you would have them do unto you.

Now, consider: It seems to me that if I had let myself be persuaded to become involved in a plot that entailed strapping bombs to my body, or loading my car with explosives, or setting out on any mission that I knew would, if successful, kill many people including myself, I would most definitely want someone to stop me if they could. The golden rule applies. Friends don’t let friends blow themselves up.

Happy labor day, everyone!

Leave a Reply

